| More

Deke Bellavia

Join Deke and the Cajun Cannon Bobby Hebert for live, local talk about the Saints, LSU, Pelicans and much more on "Sports Talk!" 

Weekdays 4-8pm

Twitter: @dekebigchief
Email: bigchief@wwl.com

Deke: Sean Payton is in elite company among NFL coaches

They say in life you get what you pay for. When it comes to Saints coach Sean Payton, the numbers say the Saints are definitely getting their money's worth!

At the end of the day, there are all sorts of stats to look at, but the most important stat is wins and losses. I combined the last four season's records from the top coaches in the league. Sean Payton leads the pack on many fronts. Payton is 48-16 in his last four seasons coached, he has led the Saints to the playoffs in each, he has won a Super Bowl during that same time span.  

Now there are a few things I must point out. First, the last four seasons that Sean Payton coached were 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2013, having served a suspension during the 2012 NFL season.

Going into the 2014 season, Payton is tied with Green Bay's Mike McCarthy as the third-longest tenured coach in the NFL. Payton enters his 9th season as head coach of the Black and Gold this year.  Only New England's Bill Belichick (2000) and New York Giants Coach Tom Coughlin (2004) have coached their current teams longer.  

When it comes the best overall record in last four seasons coached, that title goes to Belichick. Bill has amassed 51 wins and just 13 losses combined in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 regular seasons. While 51 wins is tops, Belichick has not won a Super Bowl in one of his last four seasons coached.  New England lost to the New York Giants in SB XLVI.  

Second on the list of most wins in last four seasons coached? Payton. Payton is also one of only three NFL Coaches that has led his team to the playoffs in each of the last four seasons coached.   The Patriots Bill Belichick, and Green Bay's Mike McCarthy are the others.  

San Francisco Head Coach Jim Harbaugh and Denver Broncos head man John Fox have led their clubs to the post season in each of the last three seasons.  Both have been at their respected jobs for just three years.  

Coaches that have won a Super Bowl in one of their last four seasons coached include Payton (2009) Green Bay's Mike McCarthy (2010), New York Giants' Tom Coughlin (2011), and John Harbaugh won the title in 2012 as head coach of the Ravens.  And last season the Seattle Seahawks beat Denver to capture the title with Pete Carroll leading the Hawks to their first ever title.  

Below are the records of head coaches that have won a Super Bowl in one of last four seasons coached.  Sean Payton leads the pack with 48 wins. 

Sean Payton 48-16 - won Super Bowl XLIV (2009)
Mike McCarthy 44-19-1  won Super Bowl XLV (2010)
John Harbaugh 42-22 won Super Bowl XLVII (2012)
Tom Coughlin 35-29 won Super Bowl XLVI (2011)
Pete Carroll 38-26 won Super Bowl XLVIII (2013)

Other notable coaches - Pittsburgh's Mike Tomlin and Atlanta's Mike Smith both have 40 total wins in their last four seasons, but neither has won a Super Bowl in that span. And San Francisco coach Jim Harbaugh has racked up 36 wins in just three seasons with three straight trips to the NFC Title Game and one Super Bowl appearance.  Denver's John Fox is an impressive 34-14 with three straight post seasons.  

Anyway you slice it, Sean Payton has been in elite company for quite some time, and oddsmakers are saying that the Saints will once again be among the elite teams in 2014.

Tags :  
Topics : Sports
Social :
Locations : AtlantaDenverNew EnglandPittsburghSan Francisco
People : Bill BelichickJim HarbaughJohn FoxJohn HarbaughMike McCarthyMike SmithMike TomlinPete CarrollSean PaytonTom Coughlin

08/17/2014 11:37AM
Deke: Sean Payton is in elite company among NFL coaches
Please Enter Your Comments Below
Title :
Comment :
Recent Posts
Tag Cloud